Épisodes

La loi nous passionne.
Regardez Viva Voce pour mieux connaître les membres de la communauté juridique et ce qui les intéresse. Partagez avec vos amis et faite-nous part de vos commentaires! Pour des suggestions de thèmes ou d'invités (ou simplement pour partager vos idées), écrivez-nous à dg@vivavoce.me ou appelez-nous au (514) 612-1002.

Épisode 0 – Qu’est-ce que Viva Voce?

janvier 29, 2019

  Qu’est-ce que Viva Voce? C’est une talk-show sur les avocats. Daniel, auteur du projet, raconte pourquoi il a voulu créer ce forum et ce qu’il retient de l’expérience jusqu’à maintenant. Son producteur, Robert Hiltz, pose les questions et emprunte le temps d’un épisode le fauteur de l’animateur. Transcription complète de l’épisode :…

Épisode 1 – Course aux stages

janvier 29, 2019

  Daniel se lance dans la fosse aux lions mieux connue sous le nom de la Course aux stages, le fastidieux processus par lequel des étudiants en droit ambitieux font de leur mieux pour obtenir des postes de stagiaires dans des cabinets prestigieux partout à travers le Québec. Daniel s’entretient avec une…

Épisode 2 – Sophie Gaillard

janvier 29, 2019

  Daniel discute de la législation sur les droits des animaux avec Me Sophie Gaillard, avocate et directrice de la défense des droits des animaux à la SPCA de Montréal. Parmi les thèmes abordés figurent la moralité des pratiques agricoles, la consommation d’animaux, la cruauté humaine et l’absence de gestion de la…

Épisode 3 – Robert Leckey

janvier 29, 2019

Daniel accueille l’éminent Me Robert Leckey, doyen de la faculté de droit de l’Université McGill. Daniel l’interroge sur ce qui distingue McGill des autres universités et pourquoi tout le monde devrait avoir une formation juridique alors que Google existe. Des questions épineuses sur la diversité, le radicalisme sur les campus et les…

Épisode 5 – Marie-Hélène Dubé

février 12, 2019

Daniel devient personnel avec son ancien mentor et associé principal de son cabinet Goldwater, Dubé. Elle discute de faits saillants de sa carrière, comme l’affaire Hendricks et Leboeuf c. Québec concernant le mariage de même sexe et l’affaire Bruker c. Marcovitz relative aux accommodements raisonnables. L’identité, les droits des minorités et la culture laïcité sont des thèmes de l’épisode.

Skip to content

Episodes

We live and breathe the law. Now let’s talk about it.
Watch Viva Voce to get to know who lawyers really are, what they care about and how to navigate the legal space. Share with your friends and let us know what you think! For topic or guest suggestions (or just to share you thoughts), please write to dg@vivavoce.me or call (514) 612-1002.

Episode 0 – What is Viva Voce?

January 29, 2019

  What is Viva Voce? It’s a talk show about lawyers. Daniel explains why he started it and what he’s learned from it so far. His producer, Robert Hiltz, asks the questions and takes the host seat. Full Episode Transcript Robert: Hi there, welcome to Viva Voce. I am not Daniel Goldwater.…

Episode 1 – Course aux stages

January 29, 2019

  Daniel jumps into the pressure cooker known as the Course aux stages, the regulated process by which ambitious law students do their best to secure articling positions at prestigious firms across Quebec. Daniel interviews a second-year McGill Law student, Elisabeth Novak, a third-year University of Montreal student, Hanane Loumi, and his…

Episode 2 – Sophie Gaillard

January 29, 2019

  Daniel talks about animal rights law with Sophie Gaillard, practicing attorney and Animal Advocacy Director at the SPCA Montreal. The morality of farming practices, eating animals, cruelty and the horror of castrating pigs without pain control are discussed. Sophie shares her journey and the ridicule she and her allies have had…

Episode 3 – Robert Leckey

January 29, 2019

Daniel welcomes his esteemed guest, Me Robert Leckey, dean of McGill’s Faculty of Law. Daniel asks Robert what distinguishes McGill and why anyone should get a legal education in the first place when Google exists. Thorny questions about diversity, campus radicalism and anglophone-francophone relations are fielded. Daniel says “every law is a crime…

Episode 4 – Jamie Benizri

February 5, 2019

  Daniel sits down with Me Jamie Benziri, founder of Legal Logik, a multi-practice firm with a deep online marketing presence. Jamie is clearly telegenic and brimming with energy and charisma, but he and Daniel both bring out vulnerable sides of themselves, in-between jokey banter. Jamie tells his career story, how he…

Episode 5 – Marie-Hélène Dubé

February 12, 2019

Daniel gets personal with his old mentor and senior partner at his firm, Goldwater, Dubé. She discusses her career highlights such as the same-sex marriage case of Hendricks and Leboeuf v. Quebec and the reasonable accommodation case of Bruker v. Marcovitz. Identity, minority rights and secularism are themes…